Skip to forum content

You are not logged in. Please login or register.

Forum Oi! → Chit-Chat → Don't Want To Join, Just Inquire: Physics & History

Pages 1

You must login or register to post a reply

RSS topic feed

History isn't scientific. It's a Humaties. Science deals with logic and facts. History is about humanity. It's the story of people. People don't act on facts. So history can't be a science.

Agree, they are totally separate. History can study and report the advances of Science and Technology, but History can't be infused with it. Atleast that is how I see it. Then again I graduated from college 1995 so it may have changed since then.

"My question makes sense to me, does anyone else understand what I'm asking?"
To your first question, no.
"In so far as history claims to be scientific, or to speak in a historical tradition that claims scientific perspective..."
Most historians don't do this. Some marxists might, but not very many. You can have a nearly scientific approach to history, but it will never be a natural science because you cannot test a hypothesis.
"Is there a cunning of reason to history..."
Not trying to be rude at all, what does this mean at all? It reads like word salad.
"The fact that human beings haven't abandoned nuclear weapons for going on 70 years now suggests that they are here to stay, and what implications are there for 'history'..."
You are asking what are the implications for history and yet referring to the future. This doesn't make sense.
I have a question for you... did you get this off of the post-modern essay generator?

Why the arrogant attacks on my prose?  I didn't provoke you.  Whence your license?

But in order for them to be the same then each person would have to have the same outcome and view because of Scientific Laws of the Universe. History has to be separate due to the fact that I can look at certain events of History different than other people and have totally and radically different ideas and views.